What Your Love Language Says About Your Personal Style

Profile picture for @namrataroy08

Namrata Roy

11 April 2022

6 Min

What Your Love Language Says About Your Personal Style

Table of Contents

In a relationship, love languages refer to the many ways people understand and express love. Knowing and communicating your partner's love language can make you both feel loved and valued.

Love languages relate to relationships between parents and children, coworkers, and even friends, and are not limited to romantic relationships. For example, you may make a coworker feel more valued and joyful if you compliment them or use words of affirmation instead of performing any act of service, such as completing some office duties for them.

When couples learn to communicate in each other's love language, the things they do for each other become more thoughtful and purposeful. Part of this is due to the fact that they are expressing their love for their partner in ways that make sense to them.

Why is it important to know your partner’s love language?

Not everyone expresses their love the same way, and harmony can sometimes be lost in translation between the different love languages. Therefore, it's critical to understand how your companion perceives love and let them know how you define it. Your relationship can be the nicest thing that has ever happened to you if you feel loved just like you have always desired.

How love languages improve your relationship

  • In a relationship, different types of love languages might serve to encourage selflessness. When two people are dedicated to knowing their other half's needs and desires, it demonstrates how important and meaningful they are to them.

  • Understanding your partner's love language allows you to relate with them. You learn to care profoundly about how they feel and prioritise their happiness over your own. Although it is a two-way street, committing to learning each other's love languages allows you to communicate in a way they understand and like.

Now, with love language explained, let's dive into the many types of love languages in this blog to better understand your partner's love needs.

love language infographic

The 5 Types of Love Languages

There are five distinct styles of conveying love, according to Dr Gary Chapman's book "The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love That Lasts," which he condensed from his expertise in marriage therapy and semantics.

1. Words of Affirmation

In this case, words speak louder than your actions. Words of comfort mean everything to them. A person whose primary love language is words of affirmation will value what you have to say to them regardless of whether it is written or spoken.

There are different ways to make your partner happy using words of affirmation:

  • Let them know how much you appreciate and cherish them.

  • Shower them with words of encouragement and remind them of their individual qualities and strengths.

  • Say “I love you” to them more often as an act of reassurance.

  • Express your gratitude for specific things your partner does.

  • Openly compliment them in front of others.

2. Quality Time

This is a love language for persons who enjoy spending time with their loved ones and are always willing to stay with them. These people feel important and valued when you actively lend them a listening ear, make more eye contact while they are with you or have meaningful conversations very often.

Spending quality time is also a love language for long-distance couples. It could entail spending long periods of time on video conversations, binge-watching movies online with one another, or going on virtual dates, among other things.

Different ways you can spend quality time with your partner:

  • Go on adventures and step outside your comfort zones as a couple. This might include going on a trip together or trying out a new restaurant.

  • To have more bonding and emotionally intimate times with your partner, keep your phones and other devices away from each other while you're together.

  • Go on walks together and share recreational activities to have more fun while spending time with each other.

3. Receiving Gifts

The act of gift-giving is possibly the most misunderstood of all the love languages. It may appear selfish, materialistic and demanding or as if the recipient is obsessed with possessions rather than love itself. That isn't the case at all.

If gifts are your or your partner's love language, it indicates you feel loved when you receive something tangible. It makes no difference if the item is a little trinket from a local goodwill store or a 50-foot ship. Either way, the message is the same: When I saw this, I was thinking about you. You're constantly on my mind.

4. Physical Touch

If physical touch is your love language, it suggests that physical gestures of love are more important to you than receiving presents or compliments.

If you're having a difficult day, a hug from your lover might be more comforting than words of reassurance. You feel happy when your partner holds your hand when you walk, or when they give tiny little random pecks on your cheeks to show their love for you.

Physical forms of affection, such as cuddling or hugging releases oxytocin, a feel-good hormone that makes you feel as if nothing can hurt you. As a result, spending some quality time with your lover and expressing your love through physical touch is a good option.

5. Acts of Service

If acts of service are your love language, you appreciate it when your partner goes out of their way to make your life simpler. It's little things like bringing you soup when you're sick, preparing your breakfast in the morning, or picking up your favourite pastry on the way home after a long day at work.

For these people, actions speak louder than words. You give up your time when you perform Acts of Service. This nonverbal kind of love might be time-consuming and demanding, but it's well worth the effort if it's what your partner requires.

Acts of Service can be useful for any healthy relationship, even if your partner favours a different love language.

What’s your love language? Take the Now&Me quiz to find out today!

Sometimes you have to figure out your own love language before you can communicate it to your partner. Now&Me just makes it easier and more interesting for you.

The Now&Me Know Your Love Language quiz includes a fun set of photo questions to help you figure out what makes you feel truly loved and special. You can also take this quiz with your partner as a fun activity. Allow love to flow freely as you get to know your partner and their emotional needs better.

love language quiz screenshot


1. Can you be with someone with a different love language?

Yes, your partner's love language can be different from yours. But that doesn't rule out the possibility of spending time with them. All you have to do is recognise and appreciate their way of love giving, and then reciprocate it.

2. Does love language change with time?

"Love languages change as needs in the relationship change," according to Michael Guichet of LMFT (Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist). Like many great things in life, love languages are fluid rather than rigid. Your love language will change as your relationship continues to age.

3. What happens when your love language is not met?

If your love language isn't being met, you have to be more specific while communicating them to your partner. You should let them know what really makes you happy or feel loved, and if they genuinely care about you and your needs in the relationship, they will try and do their best to speak your love language.

What is your love language? Join our community and share it with us today!

love language UGC nowandme

Share this blog

If you’ve ever felt a little lonely, wishing you had somebody to talk to, somebody who would just listen...

The Now&Me community is for you.

Keep Reading
Read all